Staff Contact Information
STAFF CONTACT INFO
Erin Keeran - erin.keeran@usmc.mil | 760.830.4702 - (Education Services Officer)
Capt Kendarius McGruder - kendarius.mcgruder@usmc.mil | 760.932.1514 - (Unit Education Officer)
Marcus Lalanne – marcus.lalanne@usmc.mil | 760.830.6881 - (Advisor)
Donald Burton – donald.burton2@usmc.mil | 760.830.6881 - (Advisor)
Gabby Moreno - gabriela.moreno@usmc.mil | 760.830.6881 - (Advisor)
Jasper Key – jasper.key@usmc.mil | 760.830.6881 - (Technician, LSP Advisor)
Andrew C. Wilson - andrew.c.wilson@usmc.mil | 760.830.6881 - (Technician, Testing Coordinator)
Additional Learning
LEAN SIX SIGMA
The Comptroller, Business Operation section, offers Continuous Process Improvement (CPI), Lean Six Sigma (LSS), courses. Note: There is no training fee associated with the course.
Our training provides an understanding of the process and the tools necessary to recognize areas for tremendous improvement in order to eliminate problems, remove waste, improve efficiency, and working conditions.
Yellow Belt (YB), 1-Day In-Person Class: Our YB course provides awareness of CPI combined with LSS concepts that improve the workplace by identifying waste and non-value added tasks. The instructor will teach a concept and then re-enforce it through a hands on training scenario. In addition to this, this course will prepare the student to participate on process improvement events.
Green Belt (GB) Training, 5-Day Course, In-Person Class: Our GB course expands upon the CPI/LSS concepts introduced in the YB training. This course introduces the student to several new CPI tools utilizing the same methodology of teaching and practical application through a scenario. This course will prepare employees to facilitate process improvement events and projects utilizing the Define Measure Analyze Improve and Control (DMAIC), problem-solving framework.
GB prerequisite: Complete Yellow Belt Training through our program or submit supporting documentation to our office.
All active or reserve military and all Department of Defense civilian employees are eligible to attend. Note: Course not available for contractors or families. Active and reserve military must have one year from EAS to qualify for the LSS GB course.
To access the course schedule and registration go to MAGTFTC, MCAGCC SharePoint, Continuous Process Improvement (sharepoint-mil.us). To enroll email you may also contact Amber Provost Haney at amber.provost-haney@usmc.mil or phone (760) 830-3685.
Lean Six Sigma Schedule 2024:
Yellow Belt 9 - Jan -24 to 9 - Jan - 24
Yellow Belt 13 - Mar - 24 to 13 - Mar - 24
Yellow Belt 10 - Apr - 24 to 10 - Apr – 24
Yellow Belt 8 - May - 24 to 8 - May - 24
Green Belt Week 1 13 - May - 24 to 17 - May - 24
Yellow Belt 12 - Jun - 24 to 12 - Jun - 24
Yellow Belt 17 - Jul - 24 to 17 - Jul - 24
Yellow Belt 14 - Aug - 24 to 14 - Aug – 24
Yellow Belt 11 - Sep - 24 to 11 - Sep - 24
The CDL (Commercial Diver's License) School is a SkillBridge approved course, and an informational brief is available online for further details. Schedule a brief.
*Does not imply USMC endorsement
The Military Academic Skills Program (MASP) is a no-cost remedial skills program (mathematics and English) that allows Marines, sailors, and adult family members an opportunity to RE-LEARN certain academic skills in preparation for college admission and academic placement testing. It is also used to prepare Marines who wish to retake the ASVAB/AFCT military
classification exam, particularly those who wish to "lat move" into a different MOS (e.g. counter-intel).
MASP is a month-long course that is held at the Education Center, bldg. 1530, 6th Street. Copper Mountain College (CMC) professors teach remedial math (0730-1130) and English (1300-1600) M-F throughout the month. Some register for ONLY the morning math section; others register for ONLY the English component. Some register to take both math and English, so they spend the entire day with us! Whatever works for you and your Marine(s) is GTG with us.
Should you have any questions or wish for one (or more) of your Marines to enroll, feel free to call the CMC staff listed in the flier. You may also feel free to stop and visit them in building 1530, Room 209 (2nd Deck).
You will undoubtedly find something of interest among the more than 100 free courses available on the Harvard University website, browser the latest courses:
Humanities
Social Sciences
Art and Design
Business
Mathematics
Health and Science
And many more!
Follow this link to brows the list of courses https://online-learning.harvard.edu/catalog/free
Columbia University launched the Center for Veteran Transition and Integration to have a direct and lasting impact on the issue of veteran transition and upward mobility by creating and providing access to the best-in-class tools and programming veterans need as they transition from active service to college and the workforce.
Website URL: https://veterans.columbia.edu/
Morongo Unified School District offers certification programs at no charge to the learner, and these certifications are career technical programs for their students and adult learners. These programs are available on varying campuses, part of the MUSD. I've listed the programs below, which include the campus, their respective fliers, and the link to the CTE Offerings
CTE Offering Link: https://www.morongousd.com/CTEOfferings.aspx
Classes offered through Morongo Unified School District to
High School Students & Adults
911 Communications Dispatcher (ACCE East)*~
Private Security Guard (ACCE East)*~
Criminal Justice (TPHS & YVHS)#
Early Childhood Development (TPHS)#
Culinary Arts & Management (TPHS & YVHS)#
Pharmacy Technician (ACCE West)*~
Medical Assistant (TPHS)*#
Registered Dental Assistant (TPHS)*~
Unmanned Aircraft Systems (ACCE East)*~
Cyber Security (ACCE East)*~
Building & Construction Trades (TPHS)#
Woodworking Occupations (BRHS) #
Furniture & Cabinet Manufacturing (BRHS)#
* Offered to adults (Must complete a background check)
~ Offered to all high school students
# Offered only to high school students from same campus
Research schools!
- College NavigatorCollege Navigator is a free consumer information tool designed to help students, parents, high school counselors, and others get information about over 7000 colleges and universities.
- Tuition Assistance DECIDEWelcome to the new Department of Defense TA DECIDE. This dynamic information and comparison tool is designed specifically to aid participants of DoD's Tuition Assistance (TA) program in making informed choices on schools and education programs. The TA DECIDE engine is fueled by more than ten recognized and trusted data sources from across the Departments of Defense, Education and Veterans Affairs. It provides a first-of-its-kind experience, uniquely tailored to the needs of the TA participant.
- U.S. Department of Education: Accreditation: Universities and Higher EducationIs the school you want to attend accredited? Find out here: This accreditation database is brought to you by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE).
Regional accrediting commissions are among the oldest accrediting organizations in the country. The United States is divided into six accreditation regions: New England, Middle States, North Central, Southern, Western and Northwest. Seven accrediting commissions operate in these regions. All regional accrediting commissions review entire institutions, as opposed to programs or schools within institutions.
Tuition Assistance
To enable your Tuition Assistance for Marine Corps TA, please attend a Zoom TA Brief (listed below) or contact the Unit Education Officer to schedule your TA Brief (760.932.1514 or kendarius.mcgruder@usmc.mil)
DATES AND TIMES FOR BRIEFS & WORKSHOPS!
College 101 (AKA Tuition Assistance) Brief: Thursdays @ 1100, via Zoom
Meeting ID: 857 8254 0349 Password: TA
Questions? Call the Education Center at 760-830-6881
- Web TA Guide (PDF) Guide for how to submit Tuition Assistance.
GI Bill information
- VA Official GI Bill websiteThe GI Bill provides educational assistance to servicemembers, veterans, and their dependents.
- GI Bill Comparison ToolThe GI Bill comparison tool provides key information about college affordability and value so beneficiaries can choose the best education program for their needs.
The Education Center provides a GI Bill brief specific to the service member upon request.
GI Bill Activation webpage: How to Apply for GI Bill
Federal Aid / Scholarships / Other Funding Information
- FAFSA: Free Application for Federal Student AidUse the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA®) form to apply for financial aid for college or grad school.
- FAFSA Application Step-by-Step Guide This step is guide is provided by the Federal Student Aid office of the U.S. Department of Education.
- MSA ScholarshipsMilitary Spouses' Association Scholarship information.
- Fastweb: Search for scholarshipsSearch for scholarships for college students!
Marine Corps COOL
COOL (Credentialing Opportunities On-Line) helps Marine Corps Service members find information on certifications and licenses related to their jobs. Use COOL to get background information on credentialing and find detailed information on:
- Credentials related to a Marine Corps Military Occupational Specialty (MOS)
- Credential requirements and potential gaps between Marine Corps training and civilian workforce credentialing requirements
- Resources available to fill gaps between military training and civilian credentialing requirements
- How to get a COOL-funded voucher to pay for the credential exam and maintenance fees
Spend a little time getting acquainted with COOL and credentialing using the Main Menu at the top of the page, and then dive into your occupation-specific information using the Go to: or Navigator options at the top-right of every page.
Welcome to Marine Corps Credentialing ... - Navy COOLwww.cool.navy.mil › usmc
Rent or buy textbooks
- AddallAddALL is a free service that searches for the best deal in books anywhere on-line. It was built by book buyers for book buyers. AddALL is an independent and impartial website, not owned by any bookstore. The search result is, therefore, totally objective.
- CheggSearch free scholarships, browse course reviews, get 24/7 study help, and rent textbooks for a fraction of the cost of your bookstore - all in one big education-redefining student hub.
JKO and JST
- Joint Knowledge Online websiteJKO provides continuous, career-long development of joint knowledge and joint readiness for individuals, staff, Combatant Commands, Combat Support Agencies, and the Services.
- Joint Service TranscriptThe Joint Services Transcript (JST) provides a description of military schooling and work history in civilian language. ... It serves as an aid in preparing resumes and explaining Army, Coast Guard, Marine Corps, National Guard, and Navy work experience to civilian employers.
USMAP
- USMAP Details
The United Services Military Apprenticeship Program (USMAP) is a formal military training program that provides active duty Army, Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard service members the opportunity to improve their job skills and to complete their civilian apprenticeship requirements while on active duty. The U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) provides the nationally recognized Certificate of Completion of Apprenticeship upon the completion of the program.
MWTC Bridgeport Testing
Examination resources, letter templates, and preparation support for your military and civilian exams are listed below.
Examination Preparation and Resources 
The EBSCO LearningExpress DoD Test Prep supports active military, military families, national guard and reserve personnel, and military affiliated civilians and retirees, providing access to educational resources that foster academic advancement, and strengthen job and career readiness. Access a variety of eLearning centers with related grouped content, such as helpful academic resources for every family member from elementary school through college-level skills. Core academic, computer and workplace preparation skills are incorporated to help service members and their families achieve personal goals in school, life and career.
SAT/ACT Prep Material
- SAT and ACT PrepThis attachment contains information for eKnowledge program, which could lower the cost of SAT & ACT preparation material.
AFCT Letter Template
- AFCT Request TemplatePlease fill in your information, and have your battalion CO sign the document. Provide a current copy of your ASVAB scores, with a true copy stamp on the score report.
- AFCT Waiver RequestAfter three months, you could submit this waiver request if you did not receive the score you were aiming for on the AFCT. Please have it signed by your battalion CO, and attach a valid copy of the latest scores stamped, certifying it is a true copy.
CLEP & DSST examinations
CLEP and DSST exams can be proctored remotely or locally at the Education Center using the computers in our examination lab. Please contact the Education Center staff to schedule your CLEP and DSST exams in the examination lab (760.830.6881). See the DANTES website listed below for additional details.
https://www.dantes.doded.mil/EducationPrograms/get-credit/creditexam.html
Additional CLEP Exam Testing Opportunities and Free Exam Vouchers available at:
Study Prep and Resources
The Combat Center Library offers excellent study and prep resources to all patrons. These resources are available as a paper-based and digital services in preparation for the exams offered through CLEP, DSST, and many more. See the link below for the MWRLibary exam preparation support page.