The Family Member Employment Assistance Program (FMEAP) provides employment-related referral services, career coaching, job search guidance, portable career opportunities, and education center referrals/guidance.
• Employment Resources: Weekly email distribution job board (regularly more than 30+ emails with multiple vacancies within each email), links for pertinent companies, agencies, and job sources. Handouts and points of contact literature for other employment Centers such as the following Career One Stop, California Employment Development Department (CA EDD) offices, and spouse-centered employment agencies ((SECO, MSEP, Military One Source, MSCCN, MyNextMove, MyCAA)).
• Career Education and Training & Career Coaching: one-on-one client services and appointments that encompass anything/everything from how to create a resume, how to enhance or target a resume, what steps are needed to reach an employment goal (including education and training, how to successfully interview and follow up post-interview, how to learn about local job markets; self-assessment(s) regarding career choice(s) and goal(s); labor market trends via BLS (Bureau Labor Statistics) website; ONET (regarding veterans) - all done with client/showing them the website navigation and then printing out pertinent information for each client.
FAMILY MEMBER EMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE PROGRAM WORKSHOPS
REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED - Enroll Now
January 23, 2025 | STARS - Spouse Transition & Readiness Seminar | Bldg. 1530, RM 302
*Offered virtually for our Bridgeport families.
For more information, please email Gillian.Luera@usmc.mil or call 760-830-4030
*FMEAP is not an employment agency and does not make job placements. However, FMEAP provides a liaison/referral service to local and national employers.
MILITARY SPOUSE EMPLOYMENT BROCHURE
Complete 48 page Guide to Military Spouse Employment. The military lifestyle includes travel, adventure, and new experiences. However, it also guarantees a transient lifestyle and challenges to maintaining a career. The goal of this publication is to provide a helpful resource to military spouses in pursuit of a career.
TRANSITION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM ONLINE WEBINARS FOR FAMILY MEMBERS
TRANSITION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM ONLINE WEBINARS FOR FAMILY MEMBERS
Select “Family Member “ in the TAP Curriculum drop-down menu on the right side of the page.
Mental Health for Families
This course explains how to identify local services and community organizations that can provide assistance and aid to service members and their loved ones.
Survivor and Casualty Assistance Resources
This course provides an overview on VA and DoD survivor benefits and eligibility, and what to do in the event of a loss.
Transitioning to Federal Employment
This course is for US Service members interested in continuing their service through Federal Employment. It provides information, tools, and links that will help you complete your journey from your military career to a civilian position in the Federal Government. You’ll learn through the eyes of Teresa, a recently separated veteran who is looking for a job in the Federal Government.
The course has 5 steps, plus an introduction to Federal Employment. Step 1: Gather Your Intel. Step 2: Identify Employment Opportunities. Step 3: Focus Your Search. Step 4: Continue the Mission. Step 5: Complete the Mission.
VA Education Benefits for Spouses and Dependent Children
This course communicates relevant information about education benefits, including Post-9/11 GI Bill benefits, that can help families, and caregivers pay for tuition, housing, books, and supplies costs through the VA education and training benefits available to them.
VA Home Loan Guaranty Program
This course offers a general overview of the VA Home Loan Guaranty Program including eligibility, processes, costs, and other available resources.
Vet Centers
This course describes how to connect with local Vet Centers and how service members, Veterans, and their loved ones can use Vet Centers as a free resource.
ONET INTEREST PROFILER
The O*NET Interest Profiler can help you find out what your interests are and how they relate to the world of work. You can find out what you like to do.
The O*NET Interest Profiler helps you decide what kinds of careers you might want to explore.
Discover your interests to help you decide what kinds of careers you might want to explore.
Take the Interest Profiler Now!
The O*NET Interest Profiler is a vocational interest assessment instrument. Users receive an accurate, reliable profile of their vocational interests that:
- Helps them identify their work-related interests,
- Focuses career search activities, and
- Enables them to link their vocational interests to O*NET-SOC occupations.
You can provide the Interest Profiler to your own site's audience through a direct web link, by including our IFrame Widget, or by using our web service API. The feature is available in English or Spanish.
REMOTE JOB OPPORTUNITIES
Are you interested in working remotely from your home? Then look no further. Please click on the hyperlink below to find out what job opportunities interest you. “The future we envision for work allows for infinite virtual workspaces that will unlock social and economic opportunities for people regardless of barriers like physical location. It will take time to get there, and we continue to build toward this.” – Andrew Bosworth, VP Facebook Reality Labs
GLASSDOOR REMOTE OPPORTUNITIES
MONSTER.COM REMOTE OPPORTUNITIES
SPOUSE EDUCATION AND CAREER OPPORTUNITIES
1. Your Installation Family Member Employment Assistance Program (FMEAP)
Located at all Marine Corps Bases, you can expect our highly trained FMEAP team members to assist family members, active duty, reservists, retirees, and civilians with achieving their personal and professional goals through employment, education, or volunteering. Our installations offer a wide variety of workshops such as Resume Writing, Skills Assessments, etc, to ensure that you are successful in obtaining employment. All of these opportunities are FREE of charge and can make any employment endeavor a little less complicated and give you the confidence to apply for the position you seek.
2. Spouse Education & Career Opportunities (SECO)
The SECO Program provides expert education and career guidance to military spouses worldwide. Call the SECO Career Center at 800-324-9647 to connect with corporations, government organizations, and non-profits to gain meaningful, long-term, portable employment.
- The Military Spouse Employment Partnership connects military spouses to more than 180 partner employers who have pledged to recruit, hire, promote, and retain military spouses in portable careers. To help with their introduction, spouses are encouraged to self-identify when contacting or applying with these employment partners.
- Military Spouse eMentor Program - An online community where spouses connect with experienced spouses, career mentors, and employers to receive career guidance, advice, and support.
- The MySECO Scholarship Database makes searching for scholarships fast and easy. Use the database to find scholarships and grants offered specifically for military spouses, service members, and college-bound dependent children.
- My Career Advancement Account Overview –The MyCAA Scholarship offers up to $4,000 of financial assistance to eligible military spouses who are pursuing a license/certification, certificate, or associate degree in a portable career field and occupation. Spouses of active duty service members in pay grades E-1 to E-6, W-1 to W-2, and O-1 to O-3 on Title 10 military orders are eligible for the scholarship.
For more information on the Family Member Employment Assistance Program, click here.
Military Spouse Career Accelerator Program
Military spouses of currently serving members of the U.S. Army, Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force, and Space Force, including active, reserve, and National Guard components, are invited to apply to the new Military Spouse Career Accelerator Pilot, a multi-year program that provides spouses with paid 12-week fellowships at employers across various industries and locations.
For more information and to register, please visit https://myseco.militaryonesource.mil/portal/events/live/mscap.
Military Spouse Employment Partnership Job Search Navigator Service
We are excited to announce the new MSEP Job Search Navigator service! This value-added service is offered to military spouses once they have completed a series of designated career support services with a SECO career coach. The MSEP Job Search Navigator will then identify potential matches between the spouse and MSEP employers based on the spouse's geographic location, education, experience, and career goals and share a list of customized job leads to assist them in their search for employment.
For more information, please visit https://myseco.militaryonesource.mil/portal/content/view/9890.
Pay for College with Scholarships Tailored Just for You!
Make college more affordable by using MySECO’s Scholarship Finder to search through more than 90 scholarships carefully chosen just for you. Browse our database of financial resources offered specifically to military spouses and family members to make paying for college fast and easy. Start now at https://myseco.militaryonesource.mil/portal/scholarships.